Ley Family, Terry McClain, And Carly Fehringer Amongst Those Honored During WSC Homecoming

Ley Family, Terry McClain, And Carly Fehringer Amongst Those Honored During WSC Homecoming
2019 Wildcat HOF Class L-R Scott Bidroski, Krista Wood, Carly Fehringer, Matt Schneider Photos Courtesy of WSC and Bob Berry

WAYNE— Wayne State College recognized a new group honored into the Wildcat Hall of Fame during homecoming festivities last week. The Alumni Service Award winner was also recognized along with Outstanding Alumni of years past. “Let the Good Times Roar” was the theme of last weeks WSC Homecoming event.

Among those inducted into the WSC Hall of Fame included; Scott Bidroski, Carly Fehringer, Matt Schneider, Krista Wood, the 2010 Wildcat Softball Team, and the Ley Family.

Scott Bidroski was WSC graduate of 2007 and played third base and shortstop for the Wildcats where he received First Team All-NSIC honors as a sophomore and senior and All-NSIC honorable mention as a junior. Scott was also the MVP of the 2006 NSIC Baseball Tournament. Bidroski is the current all-time leader in RBI’s, at-bats, and assists in Wildcat Baseball history. He currently resides in Gordon, Nebraska with his wife and three children.

Carly Fehringer is a Wayne High School native who excelled in indoor weight throw and hammer throw for the Wildcat track and field program. The twelve-time national qualifier for the Cats’ finished as a four time All-American and three-time NSIC Champion. Fehringer, who graduated from WSC in 2014 now lives in Gunnison, Colorado and is the assistant throw coach at Western Colorado University.

Matt Schneider is a 2010 graduate of WSC and competed in indoor and outdoor track and field for the Wildcats. Schneider was a two-time NCAA national qualifier in the 3,000-meter steeplechase and NCAA All-American as a senior. Matt now lives in West Point, Nebraska with his wife and two children.

Krista Wood was the WSC softball coach from 2007-2014. She had a combined record of 270-154 mark as the Cats’ head skipper during that period with an NSIC record of 133-60. The softball program appeared in three-NCAA Tournaments with an NSIC Tournament title and regional title during Woods’ time as coach. She is currently the head softball coach at South Dakota State University. Wood coached the 2010 Wildcat softball program that was also inducted as a team into the WSC Hall of Fame last week. The team finished with a record of 43-14 which is a school record for wins. The team won the 2010 NSIC Softball Tournament for the first time in school history and went on to host the NCAA Central Regional in which they also won for the first time in program history.

Ley Family Inducted Into WSC Hall of Fame L-R David, Kaki, Roy, Josie, Mason, Sandy, Matthew

The Ley Family was inducted into the Wildcat Hall of Fame as longtime supporters of Wayne State College. The Ley family has run State Nebraska Bank and Trust for five generations. State Nebraska Bank and Trust along with the Ley family have donated more than $1 million to WSC through capital investments, the annual Teaching Excellence Award, and numerous student scholarships. The bank donated for a recent locker room renovation for the Men’s Basketball Program and SNB Endowed WSC Soccer Scholarship. David Ley currently serves as the SNB Chairman of the Board and has been on the Executive Committee of the Wayne State Foundation for 50 years. Kaki Ley is the coordinator of the SNB Century Club which offers unique benefits to customers over 49 years of age. David and Kaki have three sons and six grandchildren. Matthew Ley serves as the fifth generation of his family to run the bank and has been CEO since 2010. Sandy Brown is the marketing director for SNB and is also chair of the City of Wayne Green Team. Matthew and Sandy have two children, Mason and Josie. Roy Ley is an architect with a firm out of Lawrence, Kansas. He is the designer of the bank’s main branch and current SNB building under construction on 10th and Main Street in Wayne.

Alumni Service Award Winner Terry McClain

Terry McClain was the recipient of the prestigious Alumni Service Award this year. McClain received a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration from WSC in 1970. Terry served as an associate professor of business administration for two years shortly after he got his master’s degree from the University of South Dakota in 1971. He retired from Valmont Industries, Inc. after 41-years with the company. McClain served as the Senior Vice President and CFO for 20 years. He currently resides in Fremont, Nebraska and continues to stay involved in the community along with serving as a trustee for the Wayne State Foundation since 1985.

Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients L-R Dr. Ron Holt, Lisa Allen Fricke, Corinne E. Morris, JR Rother

Four Wildcat alumni representing WSC’s four different schools were also recognized as Outstanding Alumni in their chosen fields. This year’s recipients were; Corinne E. Morris, JR Rother, Lisa Allen Fricke, and Dr. Ron Holt.

Corinne E. Morris earned her bachelor’s degree in theater and home economics in 1984 and received a Master of Arts and Education in 1993. She was the award recipient in the arts and humanities department and currently serves as the Dean of Agriculture, Math, and Science at Northeast Community College.

JR Rother was recognized as the award winner in the business and technology department. Rother is WSC graduate of the 2006 class with a degree in computers information systems and minors in business communication and computer science. He currently serves as the Director of Information Services for Bosselman Enterprises and resides in Grand Island, Nebraska.

Lisa Allen Fricke graduated from WSC 1973. She is the Outstanding Alumni Award winner representing the School of Education and Counseling. She has served 36 years of teaching in Nebraska public schools. She is currently on the State Board of Education representing District 2.

Dr. Ron Holt is the recipient of the Outstanding Alumni Award representing the School of Natural and Social Sciences. Holt graduated from WSC in 1989 and is a board-certified psychiatrist, author, and international speaker. Holt received the WSC Alumni Service award in 2004 and the 2012 Alumni Achievement Award along with the Diversity Award in 2017. He currently practices as a student health physician at San Francisco State University.