Individual Federal Assistance Now Available Until June 19

LINCOLN – With the request from the Nebraska Governor, the deadline to register for federal assistance has been extended for homeowners, renters and business owners.

According to a release from Governor Pete Ricketts, all who live in Nebraska counties designated for federal assistance now have until June 19 to register.

FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) is offering disaster grants for qualified homeowners and renters assisting with basic repairs to make a home habitable. The funds will also help provide temporary rental assistance and provide assistance for serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other sources.

There are three ways to register: visit, call FEMA’s toll-free registration line at 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585 (TTY) as well as by downloading the FEMA app on your smartphone and click on “disaster resources,” then “apply for assistance online.”

These 27 counties and one tribe were designated for FEMA Individual Assistance: Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Buffalo, Burt, Butler, Cass, Colfax, Cuming, Custer, Dodge, Douglas, Hall, Howard, Knox, Madison, Nance, Nemaha, Pierce, Platte, Richardson, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, Stanton, Thurston and Washington counties and the Santee Sioux Nation.

For flood insurance information, visit or call the Nebraska Flood Insurance Program helpdesk at 800-427-4661.

Applicants will need the following to apply for individual assistance:

  • Social Security Number;
  • Daytime telephone number;
  • Current mailing address;
  • Address and zip code of the damaged property;
  • Proof of ownership and occupancy, such as a utility bill; and
  • Private insurance information, if available.