Flood Gets NEGOP Committee Nomination To Replace Fortenberry

Mike brings broad experience both as a legislator and business owner.

Updated, Saturday, April 9, 2022 – 3:45pm

LINCOLN, NE – The Nebraska Republican Party has nominated State Senator Mike Flood of Norfolk to be the Republican candidate in the special election June 28th to replace Jeff Fortenberry in Nebraska’s First Congressional District. Flood will face democrat State Senator Patty Pansing Brooks who was selected by that party’s Executive Committee several days ago. for 1st Congressional District Special Election on June 28th.


Announcing the decision by the Executive Committee, NEGOP Chairman Dan Welch said “Congratulations to Senator Mike Flood on receiving the Nebraska Republican Party’s nomination for the 1st Congressional District special election on June 28th. Mike brings broad experience both as a legislator and business owner. He is pro-life, a strong fiscal conservative, an advocate for rural Nebraska, and he will help build a better life for the next generation of Nebraskans.”



Accepting the nomination, Flood stated – “I’m honored to be my party’s nominee to serve our district and advance our conservative values in Congress,” said Flood. “Together, we’re going to win the May 10th primary, the June 28th special election, and the general election in November. We’re going to keep this seat red, help fire Nancy Pelosi as speaker, and restore a check on Joe Biden and his disastrous administration.”


Flood has been endorsed by Governor Pete Ricketts, former Governor Dave Heineman, Congressman Adrian Smith, the Nebraska Farm Bureau, the National Rifle Association of America, former Nebraska Republican Party Chairmen David Kramer, Mark Quandahl, and Mark Fahleson, Republican colleagues in the Nebraska Legislature, former Nebraska State Patrol Superintendent Tom Nesbitt, and a coalition of 1st Congressional District mayors and county sheriffs.



Lt Col (ret.) John Glen Weaver was also considered Saturday morning and congratulated his opponent on being nominated by the Nebraska GOP Executive Committee to be the republican nominee for the special election to fill the remaining 6 months of Representative Fortenberry’s term, saying – “my only focus moving forward is interacting and engaging with voters every day to win their support and vote on May 10th, 2022. I look forward to the primary on May 10th where the voters can decide that I am the best candidate to serve the people of the First Congressional District for a full term in Congress.”


Both men are still on the May 10th primary election ballot in the First Congressional District. The special election will be the second of three votes cast for Nebraska’s next 1st District Congressional seat this year. The first will be in the May 10 primary. And because of the timing, Fortenberry’s name will still appear on that ballot. Then the special election on June 28, and finally the November 8th general election to decide who fills the seat for the next full term beginning in January of 2023.


Nebraska’s First Congressional District is comprised of Butler, Cass, Colfax, Cuming, Dodge, Lancaster, Madison, Platte, Seward, and Stanton counties, and parts of Sarpy and Polk counties. Fortenberry announced his resignation two days after being found guilty of lying to federal investigators. June 28 is also the date Fortenberry will be sentenced in California. Fortenberry faces a maximum sentence of 15 years in prison. He could also face no jail time. Governor Pete Ricketts called a special election following former Congressman Jeff Fortenberry’s resignation.