FCCLA Leaders, Award Winners Were Recognized

LINCOLN – Earlier this month, the 72nd annual State Leadership Conference for the Nebraska Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) met.

From the Pinnacle Bank Arena over 1,300 students and advisers from 85 schools across the state spent April 7-9 in Lincoln.

According to a release from the Nebraska Department of Education (NDE), a community service event, “FCCLA Serves,” was held at five community agencies across Lincoln with more than 120 students participating. During three Miracle Minutes, Nebraska FCCLA members and advisers donated more than $1,800 to the Nebraska FCCLA Impact fund, which will be used to support chapters directly impacted by natural disasters.

During the conference, 656 students participated in STAR (Students Taking Action with Recognition) competitive events. Students placing first and second in the competitive events qualified to compete at the FCCLA National Leadership Conference in Anaheim, California June 30 – July 4.

In addition to the competitive events, elections of FCCLA state officers and leadership positions were held during the conference.

Three students from northeast Nebraska were listed among the 2019-20 Nebraska FCCLA State Officers. Those included Sydney Erickson from Pierce (president) and Makenna Welke of O’Neill (vice president) while Jaiden Johnson from Bloomfield would serve as the vice president of programs.

Nebraska FCCLA 2019 State Leaders and Award Winners