Farm Service Agency County Committee Members Being Sought

LINCOLN – For the past month and over the next several months, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) began accepting nominations for county committee members.

According to a release from the USDA, elections will occur in certain Local Administrative Areas (LAA) for these members who make important decisions about how federal farm programs are administered locally. All nomination forms for the 2021 election must be postmarked or received in the local FSA office by August 2, 2021.

FSA officials are in search for enthusiastic, diverse leaders to serve other agricultural producers locally on FSA County Committees.

Agricultural producers who participate or cooperate in a USDA program, and reside in the LAA that is up for election this year, may be nominated for candidacy for the county committee. LAAs are elective areas for FSA committees in a single county or multi-county jurisdiction. A cooperating producer is someone who has provided information about their farming or ranching operation to FSA, even if they have not applied or received program benefits. Individuals may nominate themselves or others and qualifying organizations may also nominate candidates. USDA encourages minority producers, women and beginning farmers or ranchers to nominate, vote and hold office.

Nationwide, more than 7,700 dedicated members of the agricultural community serve on FSA county committees. The committees are made up of three to 11 members who serve three-year terms. Producers serving on FSA county committees play a critical role in the day-to-day operations of the agency. Committee members are vital to how FSA carries out disaster programs, as well as conservation, commodity and price support programs, county office employment and other agricultural issues.

Election ballots will be mailed to eligible voters beginning November 1 with the last day to return voted ballots to the USDA Service Center being December 6. Newly elected county committee members will take office on January 1, 2022. To find your local USDA Service Center, visit