EducationQuest Awards $138,000 In ‘Reaching Your Potential’ Scholarship Funds To 24 Nebraskans

LINCOLN – From a northeast Nebraska recipient to current students at Wayne State College and Northeast Community College, a total of $138,000 in scholarship funds were awarded to 24 Nebraskans.

According to a release from EducationQuest, this year’s ‘Reaching Your Potential’ scholarship program provides renewable scholarships to low-income Nebraska students who face obstacles to college. Applicants are referred by community agencies, colleges and select high schools across the state. Recipients attending a two-year college receive $3,000 annually and recipients attending a four-year college receive $6,300 annually.

Cassandra Granquist from Laurel who is attending Wayne State College; Northeast Community College students Paulina Lopez Cobos from Emmet and Alyssa Kandies from West Point as well as Wayne State College student Alyssa States from Omaha were listed among area recipients.

Since the program began in 2000, EducationQuest has awarded more than $7.4 million in scholarships to 622 Nebraskans. Of these, 81% are either currently enrolled in college or have graduated.

Vice President of Grants and Scholarships Eric Drumheller said, “we are humbled by the challenges our Reaching Your Potential Scholars face. The stories of these incredible students are simultaneously heartbreaking and inspiring. We are excited to welcome them into the program and work with them as they earn their college degree.”

Twenty-three of the scholarship recipients are listed below alphabetically by hometown, along with the college they are attending or plan to attend. One student chose to remain anonymous.

Paw Ka Pru Htoo, who will attend Nebraska Methodist College in her hometown of Omaha, was named this year’s Tammi J. Preston Scholar. The recognition is named after the late Tammi Preston, EducationQuest’s long-time director of Outreach Services who passed away in 2011. The recognition honors the top-qualifying Reaching Your Potential recipient in each scholarship cycle.


Amelia:           Kassidy Hoerle, Chadron State College

Bayard:          Shelbi Klingsporn, University of Nebraska Medical Center

Emmet:           Paulina Lopez Cobos, Northeast Community College

Gibbon:          Nylin Bowers, Central Community College

Laurel:            Cassandra Granquist, Wayne State College

Lincoln:          Irma Alferez, Nebraska Wesleyan University

Ricardo Gato Gil, University of Nebraska – Lincoln Umayah Murad, University of Nebraska – Lincoln Zephyr Rose-McNeeLee, University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Omaha:           Ney Blui, University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Paw Ka Pru Htoo, Nebraska Methodist College – Tammi J. Preston Scholar Halima Hussein, College of Saint Mary Mae Lin, University of Nebraska at Omaha Agoum Monydhel, Creighton University Paw Soe, University of Nebraska – Lincoln Alyssa States, Wayne State College Nyaruot Teng, University of Nebraska at Omaha Mu Thaw, Nebraska Methodist College Yajaira Villagomez, University of Nebraska at Omaha Shayla Webb, College of Saint Mary Za Za Win, University of Nebraska at Omaha

Tecumseh:     Gina Golden, Southeast Community College

West Point:    Alyssa Kandies, Northeast Community College


For additional information about the Reaching Your Potential Scholarship program, click here<>.