DED Funds Issued To Economic Development Districts

NORFOLK – The Northeast Nebraska Economic Development District was recently listed as one of several Nebraska Economic Development Districts who received general funding.

According to a release from the Nebraska Department of Economic Development (DED), the amount issued to these eight districts totaled just under $700,000.

Funding allocation for the Northeast Nebraska Economic Development District was $103,614.83.

This announcement will help the Economic Development Districts (EDDs) continue to provide outstanding service to the citizens and communities of Nebraska. DED officials state these agencies are essential and valued partners in their shared vision to grow Nebraska.

The Northeast Nebraska Economic Development District office is located at 111 South 1st Street in Norfolk. The total population of their region overs 214,271 of which nearly 70,000 is concentrated in three areas of Fremont, Columbus and Norfolk. Of the 117 communities in the NENEDD footprint, 110 have a population less than 2,500,

Collectively known as the Nebraska Regional Officials Council, Nebraska’s EDDs play a role in nearly every aspect of local and regional economic development across the state. For example, they liaise with local agencies to provide support and expertise for project planning and execution; assist in the preparation and administration of grants; spearhead planning studies and assist with area business expansion and recruitment.

DED awards EDD support funding annually, with $670,000 distributed in Program Year 2019. This year’s award was slated for $470,000, but was increased to approximately $700,000 following an increase in the budget bill for 2020. EDDs are required to apply each year and meet specific criteria to receive funds.

A breakdown of this year’s EDD awards is provided below. For more information, visit

Funding Allocation for Nebraska Economic Development Districts, October 2020:

  • Central Nebraska Economic Development District: ($75,802.98)
  • Metropolitan Area Planning Agency: ($116,648.92)
  • Northeast Nebraska Economic Development District: ($103,614.83)
  • Panhandle Area Development District: ($67,131.84)
  • South Central Economic Development District: ($90,887.78)
  • Siouxland Interstate Metropolitan Planning Council: ($47,421.67)
  • Southeast Nebraska Development District: ($118,665.17)
  • West Central Nebraska Development District: ($79,826.79)

= Total: $699,999.98