Chicken Show Contest Winners

WAYNE – Winners were announced earlier this week following the 39th annual Wayne Chicken Show.

Parade winners during the Saturday morning event went to Providence Medical Center for Best Theme Related; Daft Cluck (Godfather’s) for Best Overall and Knights of Columbus won the Best Children’s category.

Contest Winner Sheets – 2019

Providence Medical Center also held their Chicken Run 5K where Nathan Heimer of Columbus was the overall winner (age 20-29) crossing the line first in a time of 17:30 followed by Matthew Protzman (13-19 male winner) of Norfolk in second (17:41). Justin Davis was the top male runner between the age of 30-39 and placed third overall (18:25) of the 157 total runners.

Crystal Kmoch of Wayne was the top female runner (age 30-39) (21:04) followed by Courtney Maas of Wayne in second (21:13)

Other respective age winners went to Kyla Krusemark of Wayne (12 & under female/24:30); Alejandra Archundia of Wayne (12 & under male/27:45); Callie Arnold of Pierce (13-19 female/22:30); Hannah Panko of Wayne (20-29 female/26:08); Julie Vikas of Wayne (40-59 female/23:33); Estanislao Gallardo of Norfolk (40-59 male/19:34); Jane Jech of Rhodes, IA (60 & over female/36:41) and Bert Lammli of Stanton (29:01).

Team Kruger of Hoskins won the team relay in a time of 18:48. Complete results can be found at

Friday evening hot wing eating contest winner was Ryan Heiden of Ralston while the hard boiled egg eating Saturday winner was won by Joe Gubbels who had an overtime round with second place recipient Kristofer Bahr. Heiden placed third.

Individual winners during the chicken contests Saturday in the best chicken legs event were Ted Miller (14 & over) and Clara Peekenschneider (13 & under); national cluck-off Lyle George (14 & over/overall winner) and Daniel Grabowski (13 & under); Brooklyn Kruse and Brianna Nissen won the egg toss; rubber chicken chuck Chase Gieszler (13 & under) and Kolbie Foster (14 & over) as well as the egg drop/catch winner was Kristofer Bahr of Sioux Falls, SD at 55-feet.

Sunday winner’s during the car show: Lori Mclntire (people’s choice car); Rod Hefti (people’s choice motorcycle); Kraig Dolph  (people’s choice pickup) and Pat Sands of Firth, NE (longest distance traveled).

Last Cluck Poker Run results: Terry Potter was first, Irene Mock (second), Kasey Otte (third) and Mike Meyer finished with the worst hand.

Mark McCorkindale also won the Piecemakers Quick Guild quilt raffle.