Arboretum Awards Issued, Wayne’s Rasmussen Recognized

WAYNE – A pair of recipients from northeast Nebraska communities were recently recognized with Statewide Arboretum awards.

According to a release from the Nebraska Forest Service & Nebraska Statewide Arboretum, the awards were issued on November 5.

Organizations and individuals were honored by the Nebraska Statewide Arboretum at an awards reception in Lincoln. These awards are given annually to recognize exceptional plant and landscape efforts aimed at making community spaces more beneficial to the larger environment.

Steve Rasmussen of Wayne earned the Johnny Appleseed Award for tree-planting and garden development in northeast Nebraska. Also, Gene Maffit of South Sioux City was recognized with the Jim Kluck Honor Award for city wide planting, trails, conservation and tree diversity.

More information and community landscape resources can be found at

Other representatives were:

 President’s Citation—Bob Brandt of Unadilla for planting, promotion and other community efforts.
 Affiliate Excellence Award—Hastings College for campus improvements, education and demonstration.
 Educator Award—Marjie Ducey of Omaha for environmental outreach.
 Blazing Star Award—Benjamin Vogt of Lincoln for promoting native plants.
 Volunteer Award—Heidi Novotny of Louisville for planting efforts.
 Community Landscape Awards—Gifford Park of Omaha and Central Community College efforts in Grand Island, Hastings, Columbus and Ord for education, improvements and outreach in public areas.