Wayne Elementary Student Wins Severe Weather Awareness Week Poster Contest

WAYNE – An elementary student in Wayne finished first place among the severe weather awareness week poster contest.

According to a release from the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency, Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts signed a proclamation declaring March 21-27 as Nebraska Severe Weather Awareness Week. This is a time to remind Nebraskans that community preparedness can minimize the dangers of the annual severe weather season to the lives and property of Nebraskans.

In addition, NEMA Assistant Director Bryan Tuma has announced the winners of the annual Severe Weather Awareness Contest. Sarah Kuchta, age nine of Wayne was awarded first place for “The BASEMENT is the place to go when the wind is swirling out of Control!” poster.

2021 Severe Weather Awareness Week Proclamation

Top 4 and HM posters 2021


The winning and honorable mention posters will be featured in NEMA’s 2022 Severe Weather Awareness Calendar.

Nebraska Emergency Management officials want all Nebraskans to take some time during Severe Weather Awareness Week to prepare for spring and summer severe weather. The devastating impacts of extreme events can be reduced through improved readiness. Make a safety plan, create a preparedness kit and review proper safety precautions. It’s just a good practice for those who live in areas affected by tornadoes, floods and severe thunderstorms.

For more information on severe weather awareness, or preparing for severe weather, visit: https://nema.nebraska.gov/


Runner-up went to Julia McNamara, eight of Bellevue Elementary School “When my wind blow you better go!”; followed by Ryker Hasenhover, nine of Jefferson Elementary School in North Platte “If there is HAIL You better BAIL” and Gabrealla Diane Gronewold, nine, a home school student in Gothenburg “Tornado Preparedness: Go to basement away from windows. Get the Emergency Tornado Box”.


Honorable Mention

Julie Rianne F. Basa, 9, Bridgeport Public School, Bridgeport, Morrill County

Olivia Clark, 9, Seward Elementary, Seward, Seward County

Karis Crosmer, 8, Seward Elementary School, Seward, Seward County

Sloane Hagerman, 9 Centura Public School, Cairo, Howard County

Nick Kearney, 9, Lourdes Central Catholic, Nebraska City, Otoe County

Kysen Kopecky, 9, Malcolm Public Schools, Malcolm, Lancaster County

Brantly Larsen, 9, Verdigre Public School, Verdigre, Knox County

Desmond Mata, 9, Jefferson Elementary School, North Platte, Lincoln County

Isla Noda, 9, Springfield Elementary School, Springfield, Sarpy County

Harper Zutavern, 8, Sandhills Public School, Halsey, Thomas County